TheyDo supports 2 role scopes, for Workspaces and for Organizations. Permissions are tied to these roles. Higher roles inherit all the permissions from the roles below them. The list below will explain the roles from high to lower status.

Organizations

Your Organization is required to have at least one admin, the last admin of an Organization can't be deleted. When inviting users to an Organization you can choose to invite them as Viewer, Contributor, or Admin.

Admin

When creating a new Organization, the creator will be admin of the Organization and the automatically created Workspace by default. When inviting a user as admin, they will be automatically be made admin in all Workspaces.

  • Can edit any setting in Organization, including but not limited to User management and billing settings.
  • Can edit or create content in all Workspaces (even if they are not Admin or Editor in the Workspace).
  • Cannot revoke their Admin rights, this has to be done by a different Admin.

Contributor

When inviting a user as a Contributor, they will be automatically be made Editor in the chosen Workspace and Viewer in any other Workspaces.

  • Can create and edit any content in any Workspace where they are Editor.
  • Can create a new Workspace.
  • Can view content in any Workspace.
  • Can edit their profile.
  • Can not edit Workspace settings.
  • No other setting menu's available in the settings menu other than: 'Workspaces', and 'Edit profile'.

Viewer

A User that has 'Viewer' permissions in an Organization will automatically have no roles in any Workspaces.

  • Can view all Workspaces and content.
  • Can edit their profile.
  • Can not edit or create any content in Workspaces.
  • Can not edit Workspace settings.

Disabled

When a User is disabled, they can no longer log in, they are not able to see any content. But the content they created will be available until deleted. A user that has been disabled does not count towards your billing total.

Workspaces

When a User is classified as a Contributor or Admin their permissions can be edited in the settings menu of a Workspace. Each Workspace needs at least one Admin.

Admin

  • Can view, edit, and create any content in Workspace.
  • Can edit any settings in Workspace.

Editor

  • Can view, edit, and create any content in Workspace.
  • Can not edit Workspace settings.

No Workspace role

  • Can view content.
  • Can not edit any settings in Workspace.
  • Can not edit or add any content.
Did this answer your question?